Woman I Did Not Know, I Owe You an Apology

Once upon a time, four years ago, in another lifetime that seems oceans and shores away today, my husband and I were newlyweds. One evening, we decided to go out for a romantic dinner in a well known restaurant in Paris. And while we were waiting for our food (which turned out to be disgusting in case you were wondering), I noticed a nearby table of young women dining as if they were completely care free. At first I didn’t give it much thought, it was obviously girls night out and they were clearly having a great time. But since it was relatively a quiet night, I couldn’t help overhearing some of their conversation, a conversation that contained words like husband, baby and children! I was literally shocked and told my husband in objection: “How could they! They actually have the heart to leave their children and go out alone! What about their poor husbands, aren’t they more worthy of their wives’ time!?”

At the time, we didn’t know any better, I was so sure of my opinion and my husband couldn’t agree more, and I think that involuntarily I spent the night staring and making ugly faces at the poor women…

That was nesrly four years ago and today I am all ready and willing to admit to my ignorance back then. Our baby girl has turned five month and a half and she is quite a handful… I made the choice to become a stay-at-home mom, so I spend my day talking to this cute but tiny person who cannot talk back… Some days I feel my social skills going rusty and I start wondering if I still know how to have an adult conversation with a normal person.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my baby and I love spending time with her. Even in the moments were I doubted myself as a mom I did not regret my choice of staying home with her. But at the end of every day, I find myself too exhausted to shower and I realize I haven’t had a moment to pamper myself in months. So if I had the chance to go out with the girls to relax, not necessarily for dinner, few hours at the spa would do it as well, I wouldn’t second think it for a second, because today I realize every mommy deserves some time for herself to reload and recharge.

So woman I don’t know and starred at so viciously once at a Lebanese restaurant in Paris, I am truly sorry for my judgmental behavior.

  

Leave a Reply

